The Streaking Continues…

By Catherine Yin

It’s been three weeks since this class has started and I’ve already learned so much. I know, this sounds so cliche, but it’s true. Even the first day of class overwhelmed me as we got to work with lab equipment I’d never handled before. And the first time I saw my plaques? I swear, my eyes started getting misty and my maternal instinct kicked in.

So far it’s been an eventful journey to find my one true phage. Direct plating didn’t yield any results, sadly, but my enrichment cultures didn’t let me down and that’s when the streaking began. Today was my fifth time streaking and I’m glad to see my progress from generation to generation. There were some rough times in between (really hazy phages that I could barely see and contamination on my agar plate) but they’ve been isolating at a nice pace. Although all this streaking can get repetitive after a while, I feel excited and giddy about finally getting to meet my phage!

I didn’t really know what to expect when I signed up for a class called Phage Hunting but I’m glad I did. I hope you guys are all basking in this journey of finding your own phages. And now it all comes down to which phage will ultimately be chosen? *Cue suspenseful music*

This entry was posted in From the Phage Hunters. Bookmark the permalink.