Reflections

By Aviana Duca

As I reflect on my time as a phage hunter, I feel as though I’ve come a long way. At first, I was hesitant in the lab, not sure how the class would be structured if people were moving at their own pace and working independently. I’ve now have come to understand, appreciate, and look forward to being in a laboratory setting. After being immersed into lab work from day one, this class has helped me to feel more confident in a lab surrounding. I have become familiar with standard lab equipment and procedures and have learned how to bounce ideas off of my peers, wanting to hear their perspective on my findings. Another important facet that I’ve learned is that in real world experiments, and science in general do not always follow a clean and orderly procedure. Trial and error exists and problem solving and critical thinking skills are key to achieving success.

 

It was refreshing to focus on one main topic throughout the entire year. This allowed me to learn so much about bacteriophages that I feel as though I have become almost an expert on them. It was a great two semesters and definitely a unique experience that I will always appreciate and treasure.

 

About emilyjanefisher

Lecturer at Johns Hopkins University currently teaching biochemistry, cell biology, microbiology, and the phage hunters lab. I grew up in Palo Alto, California, went to school at UC Santa Cruz (home of the banana slugs--our school mascot and state mollusk), and got my PhD from UNC Chapel Hill.
This entry was posted in From the Phage Hunters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

