Ready to return to the “Wet Lab”

By Daniel Villalobos

This semester of Phage Hunting has been vastly different from what I expected. In the beginning I had no idea what annotating a genome meant. I figured it would likely be a long and tedious process that really didn’t have great importance. After all, I really only wanted to continue with the course so that I could do work with my own phage at the end of the semester. It seemed like a reasonable tradeoff to have to endure the arduous task of annotating the Altwerkus genome in order to return to my own phage which I felt proud of. To my surprise this was not the case.

After the first reading assignment about phages we had at the beginning of the second semester, I was wary that the class I had once enjoyed had changed into something I found boring. This was mostly because I didn’t remember much from my last Biology course during my sophomore year of high school. I realized that I had forgotten quite a bit in the last 2-3 years when the paper assigned for reading seemed to be written in a completely different language I did not understand. This meant that I had to pay attention and take notes during class to ensure that I could remember some elements of biology and understand the material. Surprisingly, the challenge reminded me of the interest I had in biology during high school. I guess all the work annotating the gene and learning about the genome was actually stimulating.

I am excited to return to the “wet lab” in the future once we have finished annotating the genome. It will be an enthusiastic return to my favorite lab of freshman year! I for one can’t wait to start my own project to see whether my phage is able to infect other bacterial hosts besides M. smeg.

This entry was posted in From the Phage Hunters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

