Ingredients for isolating and growing a phage: sugar, spice, everything nice…and just a pinch of luck

By Elizabeth Liu

I thought I knew what I was getting into when I enrolled in phage hunting. A two-and-a-half hour lab every Monday and Wednesday? I got this. Digging in the dirt with a spoon in front of gawking passerby? No problem. What I was not prepared for, however, was how tricky isolating a phage could get.

Let’s start from the beginning. I found two morphologies after plating my enriched dirt sample, one of them was medium-sized, while the other was the size of a pinprick. After a few rounds of streaking and serial dilutions, I decided to continue with the phage that made the smaller (and cuter!), pinprick-sized plaques. From there, I tried making webbed plates for my MTL, but a few problems arose, namely the medium-sized plaques that tried to disguise themselves in between my pinprick-sized ones. So I kept a close eye on my negative control to make sure these imposters were not from contaminated phage buffer and diluted a few more times. However, try as I might, I could never separate them from my adorably tiny ones – after a few generations, they would always come back!

I’ve followed the phage hunting manual word-for-word – almost religiously – and yet, somehow, things just have not worked out for me yet. Yes it is a little infuriating, but I also find it fascinating. While everyone’s lab procedures are the same, our results will always turn out to be a little different. This is what makes phage hunting an extraordinarily unique class – everyone can work at his or her own pace. It allows the people who are ready to move on to do so, while the ones who need a little more luck can take more time to revisit the procedure they did last class. As for me, I fall in the latter group, so for next class, I’ll wear my lucky socks and we’ll see how that goes!

This entry was posted in From the Phage Hunters. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ingredients for isolating and growing a phage: sugar, spice, everything nice…and just a pinch of luck

  1. Pingback: Ingredients for isolating and growing a phage: sugar, spice, everything nice…and just a pinch of luck | jhublogs

Leave a Reply

