The Scientific Process: The 10% Rule vs a Huntsman’s Resolve

By Kareem Osman

As much as I’ve grown to love Phage hunting, it sure as hell has tested my will, taken a toll on my Monday-Thursday schedule (working during the MW section woohoo!), and taught me that biology is all about that 10% of the time things go right.

It started with the streaking.

September 25th

First-third streak looked great; I sure was eager to make dem dilutions a day ahead of schedule! I sure felt like a proper researcher, my lab coat all crimped up and my glasses chromed. 

Boy, oh boy, was I mistaken.

To prevent myself from writing fourteen more pages of my experiences in the phage lab, I’ll skip to the juicy parts.

10 days of streaking later (that’s right double digits), I had a morphology I could use. This badass ‘eyeball’ morphology was not even one of my original three that I toiled so hard over. It crept up halfway through and simply wouldn’t be coaxed away. It won.

October 10, pre-MTL dilutions. About time.

My hunting experiences on the whole improved from then on. Getting through the MTL (medium titer lysate) to the HTL (high titer lysate) only took a couple weeks, almost a quarter of the time the streaking stole. Gloriously emerging with my orange capped opaque tube of high titer lysate from the heap of organelles and sex pili of the M. smeg strewn around me was a powerful moment. The flames of my Bunsen burner danced more vividly in the profundity of the moment. The tubes of smeg around me would turn clear with mass bacterial suicide as they sensed my presence.  I could even hear the sound of epic music playing from my tube of lysate.

Now, prepping for my final few in-lab phases of phage hunting, the DNA prep and Electron Microscopy, I am eager to seal the deal. I have a great name planned for my deviant phage, and I am looking foreword to consummating my work in the interwebs.

Good game, Phage Lab.

This entry was posted in From the Phage Hunters. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Scientific Process: The 10% Rule vs a Huntsman’s Resolve

  1. Pingback: The Scientific Process: The 10% Rule vs a Huntsman’s Resolve | jhublogs

Leave a Reply

