One Morphology, Two Morphology, Three morphology, More

By Maggie Lederer

It was a dark and stormy day when I looked at the results of my unsuccessful first attempt at direct plating. There was literally nothing in my plate besides the yellowish agar of the plate. I didn’t want to be the only one without plaques. Luckily, I was in the majority, but I happened to be standing next to the one girl in our class who had successfully performed direct plating. Her plaques were picture perfect: round, clear and separate. I returned to my yellow nothingness to try to convince myself that the obvious bubbles were plaques.

My wallowing did not last long: after plating my enriched (new sample – I decided to abandon ship as it had clearly failed me in my previous attempt) sample, I had plaques…!!

Fast forward three weeks and four streaking attempts, I am significantly less excited. Every time I pick up my incubated plates, I discover something new. While that sounds like a good thing, I’d much prefer to see one similar morphology. I’ve nicknamed several of them: the bullseye, the snakeskin, the speck, and the original. Each almost similar to the other but in some way unique. In the coming weeks, I hope to purify the population or prove that perhaps the phage exhibits a couple different types of plaques. In the mean time, I’m lost in a sea of plates, agar and very distinct plaques.

This entry was posted in From the Phage Hunters. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Morphology, Two Morphology, Three morphology, More

  1. Pingback: One Morphology, Two Morphology, Three morphology, More | jhublogs

Leave a Reply

