Bubbly Blister

By Elisabeth Wenneker

I have mixed solutions together in high school chemistry class to create precipitates and extracted strawberry DNA with dish soap and a Ziploc bag in biology, but I have never done laboratory research before becoming a Phage Hunter. Only thirty minutes into the first day of Phage Hunters, we were thrown into the lab, given lab coats and phage buffer and told to get to work. I was lost. Luckily enough, my lab partner worked in a research lab this past summer and knew how to use all the peculiar instruments lying on our bench in front of us. I was very confused that day, but with my partner at my side, soon enough I was able to distinguish a microcentrifuge tube from a micropipettor tip.
On the first day, the one thing I felt comfortable with was lighting the Bunsen burner. I struck that flint like it was my job. Gas flowing, sparks flying. I was the Bunsen burner queen. I asked my partner to turn the gas off in between parts of the experiment, claiming the flame was making me overheat. In reality, I just wanted to light the Bunsen burner again.
I felt a little more comfortable with the lab tools by the second day of class, but I still waited for my partner’s thumbs up before heading forward with the lab procedure. I was so focused on measuring the exact amount of “AD” for the enrichment flask, that I did not notice my favorite lab tool, the Bunsen burner, beneath my hand. I probably had my hand over the flame for at least three seconds before I realized my glove was melting and my skin was burning. Freaking out that the glove had melted into my skin, I ripped it off to find just a little bit of redness on my pinky. After a brief cold water wash, I was back on track with enrichment.
When I got in bed that night, my pinky was a little red, but I thought nothing of it. The next morning I woke up to find a skin bubble bursting from my pinky, just asking to be popped. I restrained myself from popping it, and I let it be. Throughout that day and the following day, it kept growing until it reached the size of a small peanut m&m.

Blister Image

I could not take notes in class for all I could do was stare at this bubble protruding from my finger.
Today was our third day in lab, and I am now incredibly comfortable with the tools, and just a tad fearful of the Bunsen burner. I have not found any plaques yet, but hopefully by Monday afternoon, my bubble will be gone, and my phages will appear.

This entry was posted in From the Phage Hunters. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bubbly Blister

  1. Pingback: Bubbly Blister | jhublogs

Leave a Reply

